Friday, 15 November 2013

Worcester Away LV Cup Preview

Tigers young cubs face another stern test of their credentials tonight as they face a strong Worcester side away from home. 

Richard Cockerill makes 4 changes from the side that beat the Ospreys last week; the cruel hand of concussion takes Sam Harrison at scrum half but returns Matt Smith after a week's absence, Mele comes in a half back whilst George Catchpole makes way in the centre.  The other changes are Blaine Scully, away on international duty, being replaced by Academy winger Henry Purdy, who makes his first start, and Thomas Waldrom who drops out for Jordan Crane.

Dean Ryan's Worcester name a very strong side as he looks for his maiden home victory.  Welsh international Jonathan Thomas leads from the back row and the pack also contains Argentinean interntional lock forward Mariano Galarza and Tongan test prop Ofa Fainga'anuku.  

James Percival, Chris Brooker, Sam Betty and Jake Abbott add further experience and grit to a tough pack.

In the backs Andy Symons, released by Tigers this summer, plays centre with former Blackheath and Bedford wing James Stephenson has a tremendous scoring record in the 2nd and 3rd tiers.  

Tigers strong and experienced spine running from Boris Stankovich through Jordan Crane and David Mele to Scott Hamilton should allow the youngsters another chance to flourish.   The front row especially will surely have its mettle thoroughly tested once Euan Murray enters the fray for Worcester.

Tonight's referee will be Gwyn Morris from Cardiff.  His claim to fame is from his day job as a P.E. teacher at the school which Gareth Bale and Sam Warburton attended as teenagers.

15 Scott Hamilton
14 Henry Purdy
13 Matt Smith
12 Javiah Pohe
11 Miles Benjamin
10 Owen Williams
9 David Mélé
1 Boris Stankovich (c)
2 Harry Thacker
3 Fraser Balmain
4 Joe Cain
5 Sebastian de Chaves
6 Michael Noone
7 Jamie Gibson
8 Jordan Crane

16 Neil Briggs
17 Tom Bristow
18 Jérôme Schuster
19 Tom Price
20 Harry Wells
21 George Tresidder
22 Pasqualle Dunn
23 Perry Humphreys

15 Ben Howard
14 James Stephenson
13 Max Stelling
12 Andy Symons
11 Ravai Fatiaki
10 Paul Warwick
9 Jonny Arr
1 Ofa Fainga'anuku
2 Chris Brooker
3 Rob O'Donnell
4 James Percival
5 Mariano Galarza
6 Sam Betty
7 Jake Abbott
8 Jonathan Thomas (C)

16 Ed Shervington
17 Jeremy Becasseau
18 Euan Murray
19 Christian Scotland-Williamson
20 Richard de Carpentier
21 George de Cothi
22 Ignacio Mieres
23 Dean Hammond

Referee: Gwyn Morris (Wales)
TV: None Live, Highlights Sunday 8pm ITV 4

No comments:

Post a Comment